Search here...
< All Topics
Print

Open Community Access

Open Community Access (OCA) provides read-only access to the entire repository in Prolaborate. Users can access repository information live with a short URL link, which does not require any authentication.

Prerequisites

  • Prolaborate version should be 4.3 and above.
  • Admin should have access to the repository to enable the option in Repository Settings.
  • The Public share option should also be enabled in the repository settings for Open Community Access to work.

Note:

  1. Due to security reasons, OCA is available for an ‘On Premise’ environment.
  2. From Prolaborate 5.5.0, key changes have been made to use the Open Community Access feature. Please refer to the article here for more information.

Enable Open Community Access

To enable Open Community Access, open your repository from the repository listing page and click on Menu > Repository Settings under Repository Configuration.

To enable the feature, toggle the button under Open Community Access. Once enabled, click Save to update the configuration.

Share a Repository

After enabling Open Community Access and saving the configurations, navigate to the Repositories listing page. The Share option will be enabled and active in each repository’s Actions column. If Open Community Access (OCA) is not enabled, the button will be disabled.

Click on it to open the Share Repository popup window. A short URL with the repository’s alias name will be available there.

Click the Copy icon to copy the URL. Once copied, share the URL with your users to give them read-only access to the entire repository.

When users visit the URL provided, they see the default dashboard set for the repository and the contents in the repository browser, based on the sections configured for the specific repository.

Note:

  1. Enabling Open Community Access (OCA) grants users access to artifacts and packages based on the selected packages in section configurations.
  2. User will no longer be able to access the previously shared URL if Open Community Access (OCA) is disabled.

Revoke OCA Share

Users can revoke the shared repository’s URL by disabling Open Community Access. To disable, go to Menu > Repository Settings. Toggle the button under Open Community Access to disable the feature.

Once disabled, click Save to save the configurations.

After disabling the feature, the previously shared URL becomes invalid.

Note:

  1. After enabling Open Community Access, the Private Share URLs will work as a Public Share where read-only access is given to the entire repository.
  2. Only the default dashboard set for the repository will be displayed to the users while accessing the repository using ‘Open Community Access’.
  3. Users can view the discussions but cannot participate in one.
  4. Users cannot access any other menus or information.
  5. From Prolaborate 5.6.0, downloading model information as an excel file from charts and reports is restricted for anonymous users.
sparxsystems-logo-inverted

Start Here
Book a Demo