Search here...
< All Topics
Print

Prolaborate Repositories

Introduction

In Prolaborate, a Repository is equivalent to a Project in Enterprise Architect (EA). This guide walks you through how to add and manage repositories in Prolaborate.

Prerequisites

  1. Admin access is required to manage repositories.
  2. An existing EA repository is required. Click here to know more.
  3. Pro Cloud Server (PCS) connection is mandatory with EA to add a repository. Click here to know more about connecting PCS.
  4. If model security is enabled in EA, the User ID used for adding the repository in Prolaborate must have Update Diagram and Update Elements permissions in the EA model.

Adding a New Repository

When you log in to Prolaborate for the first time, the Repositories page will be empty.
To add a new repository, click on Add Repository button.

The following form will open:

Repository Information

In the Repository Information Section, define the following details.

Field Description
Repository Name Enter a name for the repository.
Alias Name Alias name is automatically pre-filled but can be edited.
Description Provide a short description to help users understand the repository’s contents.
Status Status
Versions Explorer Enable this option to configure and view different states of artifacts and diagrams. To learn more about Versions Explorer, click here.

Pro Cloud Server Details

In the Database Manager Details section, provide the following:

Field Description
Model Name Enter the alias name of the database server as defined in PCS (case-sensitive).
Protocol Select HTTP or HTTPS.
Server Enter the IP address or DNS of the server hosting the EA model.
Port Enter the port number used by PCS.
Model Security If authentication is required, enable this option and enter the EA User ID and Password.

To know more about Pro Cloud Server installation and database configuration, click here.

EA Model Security and Authentication

If Model Security is enabled in EA, provide the correct User ID and Password. From Prolaborate 5.6, admins can enable EA Authentication, requiring repository members to authenticate before accessing model data.

Users will be prompted to either:

  • Enter their EA model credentials, or
  • Use OpenID (if it has been configured in the model in EA).

To learn more about EA Authentication, click here.

Note:

  1. Active Directory credentials cannot be used to add an EA repository in Prolaborate.
  2. Locking a package in Enterprise Architect grants access based on the user’s EA permissions. To know more about package lock, click here.

Select User Groups

From Prolaborate 5.6, admins can assign user groups when creating a repository. Members of the selected groups are automatically added to the repository.

Click Save and if the entered information is valid, a popup screen appears as shown in the image below.

Repository Setup Options

You can choose any one of the options. Here is a quick comparison,

Manual Automatic
Sections Not configured Entire model added
Access Permissions Not configured Full access granted
Modeling Languages  Not configured All default MDGs added 
When to use When you want to selectively configure sections and import specific MDGs. For most use cases where you want a quick setup.

Configure Manually

If you click on Configure Manually, you will be taken to the Sections page where you can configure sections and configure the access permission by yourself. All the Modeling Languages will not be added by default. You can pick and choose the desired ones based on requirement.

Learn more about sections, access permissions and adding modeling languages in Prolaborate.

Configure Automatically

When you click Configure Automatically your sections, access permission and modeling languages will be configured automatically. You can then customize it later based on your requirements.

The image below shows the process if the repository is configured automatically. Click Open Repository to open the model and view the information in Prolaborate.

Troubleshoot

If you encounter issues while adding a repository in Prolaborate, refer to the FAQs.

Edit Repository

Admins can edit repository details by clicking the Edit icon next to a repository.

click the edit option to edit the repository details

Note:

  1. User group selection cannot be modified after the repository is created.

Set a Repository as Default

You can make a repository the default repository, which will automatically open whenever you log in.

Click More under Actions and select Make Default to set a repository as default.

Note:

  1. If a user has access to only one repository, that repository will automatically open on login.

Share Repository

You can share an entire repository using a short public URL, provided Open Community Access is enabled.

To know more about Open Community Access, click here.

Versions Explorer

If Versions Explorer is enabled, admin can click the Configure button to add the model to view the different states of artifacts and diagrams.

The column will display Configured once setup is complete.

To learn more about Versions Explorer, click here.

EA Authentication

The EA Authentication column shows whether authentication is enabled and the current login state.

status Description
Not Enabled EA Authentication is disabled.
Sign In Users are prompted to log in with their EA credentials or Open ID (if configured).
Change User If Keep Me Signed In was selected previously, this option appears. Clicking it allows users to switch credentials.

To learn more about EA Authentication, click here.

More Admin Options

Menu – Access repository configuration settings such as access permissions, dashboards, and repository settings.

Copy – If you choose Copy, the repository will be recreated.

Note:

  1. Only the EA model is reconfigured. Configurations such as sections, access permissions, dashboards, and user settings are not carried over.

Copy Repo ID – Copy the repository’s ID in Prolaborate. This ID can be used in EA to generate Prolaborate shareable links for the model. Click here to learn more.

Delete – Permanently deletes a repository, including all configurations (sections, users, permissions, dashboards, etc.).

By using these options, you can effectively manage, configure, and share repositories in Prolaborate.

sparxsystems-logo-inverted

Start Here
Book a Demo